ORNL FCU Announces Annual Scholarship Award Winners

Random Acts of Flowers receives their 100,000th vase donation
August 7, 2015
Cathy Ackermann: Brainstorming Starts With Critical Thinking
August 24, 2015
Show all

ORNL FCU Announces Annual Scholarship Award Winners

Oak Ridge, Tenn. – Austin Deitz and Laura Humphrey were announced today as the recipients of the 2015-2016 B.A. Candler/ORNL FCU Scholarship Award.  The $1,000 scholarships are awarded annually by ORNL Federal Credit Union to two deserving students who plan to continue their education at the University of Tennessee (UT).  The scholarship can be used for books, tuition, or other college related expenses.

Deitz, a graduate of Sevier County High School, plans to pursue a degree in Computer Science.  His expected graduation date is in May 2017.

Humphrey is seeking a double-major in both Political Science and Sustainability with plans to graduate in May 2016.  She is a graduate of Jefferson County High School.

The ORNL FCU Scholarship Program was established in 1993 to honor Bob A. Candler who retired as president of the Credit Union after 31 years of service.  Any member of ORNL Federal Credit Union, enrolled or planning to enroll at the University of Tennessee at Knoxville is eligible to apply.  The next application deadline is March 1, 2016.

ORNL Federal Credit Union is a not-for-profit financial cooperative locally owned and operated by its members for the benefit of all who belong.  Established in 1948 with 10 founding members, ORNL Federal Credit Union’s assets have grown to over $1.6 billion and membership has grown to over 167,000. Open to businesses and anyone who lives, works, worships, or attends school in the 16 counties of Central East Tennessee, ORNL Federal Credit Union currently serves members in 32 branches located throughout Anderson, Blount, Campbell, Hamblen, Knox, Loudon, Monroe, Roane, Sevier, and Union counties.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.